Page 1 of 5

My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:36 pm
by dschrammie
My problem seems a bit similar to Kimouette's...kind of.
First, I was trying to use the mdfwupdate.exe method that was originally posted by Dmitri in June. However, when I typed in "mdfwupdate.exe megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin", the command prompt says: 'mdfwupdate.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
So then I tried using Firelord's "MDUpdate" utility...I'm selecting megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin because my megadrum is an older version (Synthex v1.8), so I assumed I should use 16MHz. I believe Dmitri said the 16 and 20 are interchangeable, so it shouldn't matter if I actually have a 20 Hz. Anyway, my megadrum has only 1 MIDI receptable on the rear, not 2. I've assumed that means it's a MIDI out. So in the MDUpdate utility for the MIDI in selection I've chosen USB Audio Device, and for MIDI out I selected my MIDI interface, Layla 20. The update progress screen comes up and then nothing happens for quite a while...no progress in the progress bar, the "Elapsed Time" doesn't even start ticking away. Eventually (about 8-10 minutes) I get a little pop up window saying "CRC Error". The message says "Invalid Checksum Received, file is damaged." The megadrum LCD is still on the FwSUpdater 16MHz/StartUpdateOnPC screen.
So I tied switching the MIDI in and MIDI out to both be USB Audio Device...the same error appears, but much sooner and the megadrum LCD switches to the same VU meter thing that Kimouette was getting.
So, continuing to test every possibility, I tried again, but using Layla 20 as both the MIDI in and MIDI out. I eventually get the same result as the first attempt.
And of course, I had to try with MIDI in as the Layla 20 and MIDI out as USB audio device. Same result as the second attempt.

Thoughts?

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:15 pm
by dmitri
If I am to help:

1. Use mdfwupdate utility and the procedure from viewtopic.php?p=14779#p14779
2. mdfwupdate either must be in the same directory from which you run it or must be in the system path
3. Selected frequency in the bootloader must match your crystal frequency
4. My brain fails to comprehend all the ports combinations you try to use so use only MegaDrum USB ports for the procedure.

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:25 am
by dschrammie
dmitri wrote:If I am to help:
1. Use mdfwupdate utility and the procedure from viewtopic.php?p=14779#p14779

I will gladly use this procedure, and I thought I was doing it correctly. I downloaded the mdfwupdate utility .zip file to my desktop, as well as the most recent firmware update (20101204). I created a folder on my desktop called Megadrum Update and extracted everything from the .zip files into this folder.

dmitri wrote:2. mdfwupdate either must be in the same directory from which you run it or must be in the system path

I'll do the best I can to follow the directions as perfectly as my comprehension allows me. Admittedly, I never dealt with anything in DOS before, so I'm not really familiar with commands in DOS. So I started up "Command Prompt" from the Accessories menu and it says:
C:\Documents and settings\Dave>
Then I typed in:
mdfwupdate.exe megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin
That's when I get the reply in the command prompt 'mdfwupdate.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. And I'm pretty much stuck there because I don't know what else to do. Is there something else I should be doing - saving the files somewhere else? entering something else in the command prompt?

dmitri wrote:3. Selected frequency in the bootloader must match your crystal frequency

Unfortunately because I bought it used and it is older, I don't know what the frequency is...would you say I should just go through all of the frequencies until one of them works?

dmitri wrote:4. My brain fails to comprehend all the ports combinations you try to use so use only MegaDrum USB ports for the procedure.

No problem, I'll happily use USB...hopefully we'll get this to the point that I actually can enter that info and then we'll see what other trouble I can get into!

Thank you Dmitri, I do appreciate any assistance you can provide (and any patience you can extend for my lack of computer skills).
Dave

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:34 pm
by dmitri
dschrammie wrote:
dmitri wrote:2. mdfwupdate either must be in the same directory from which you run it or must be in the system path

I'll do the best I can to follow the directions as perfectly as my comprehension allows me. Admittedly, I never dealt with anything in DOS before, so I'm not really familiar with commands in DOS. So I started up "Command Prompt" from the Accessories menu and it says:
C:\Documents and settings\Dave>
Then I typed in:
mdfwupdate.exe megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin

Copy mdfwupdate.exe and megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin to C:\Documents and settings\Dave\

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:20 pm
by Firelord
dschrammie wrote:So then I tried using Firelord's "MDUpdate" utility...I'm selecting megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin because my megadrum is an older version (Synthex v1.8), so I assumed I should use 16MHz. I believe Dmitri said the 16 and 20 are interchangeable, so it shouldn't matter if I actually have a 20 Hz. Anyway, my megadrum has only 1 MIDI receptable on the rear, not 2. I've assumed that means it's a MIDI out. So in the MDUpdate utility for the MIDI in selection I've chosen USB Audio Device, and for MIDI out I selected my MIDI interface, Layla 20. The update progress screen comes up and then nothing happens for quite a while...no progress in the progress bar, the "Elapsed Time" doesn't even start ticking away. Eventually (about 8-10 minutes) I get a little pop up window saying "CRC Error". The message says "Invalid Checksum Received, file is damaged." The megadrum LCD is still on the FwSUpdater 16MHz/StartUpdateOnPC screen.

Have you tryied selecting USB Audio Device for both input and output ports in MDUpdate? What version of Windows do you have?

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:53 am
by dschrammie
Firelord wrote:Have you tryied selecting USB Audio Device for both input and output ports in MDUpdate? What version of Windows do you have?


Yep. First I tried with a mix of USB and Layla device, but then I also tried selecting only USB Audio Device for both input and output. That was the one that resulted in the same CRC Error, but also the weird VU meter thing similar to what Kimouette had.
I'm using Windows XP Home.

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:33 am
by kimouette
What Dmitri wrote is very important!
dmitri wrote:Copy mdfwupdate.exe and megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin to C:\Documents and settings\Dave\
If by default your CMd prompt puts you in "C:\Documents and settings\Dave\" then this is where you should copy mdfwupdate.exe and megadrum644_16_32_20101204.bin !

About your crystal, can you open your MD enclosure and check for that part :
XTAL_20M.jpg

You might be able to read on the top of your crystal what frequency it is (16 or 20MHZ)

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:50 am
by Firelord
The thing is that MDUpdate is essentially mdfwupdate.exe with a wxWidgets GUI and minimal modifications. Which means that if mdfwupdate.exe didn't work, MDUpdate will not work either (and probably vice versa, the problem is that I've had very little feedback to confirm its integrity).

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:21 pm
by jman 31
Here is the layout and crystals for the board you have.

Re: My Atmega 644 problem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:36 pm
by dschrammie
jman 31 wrote:Here is the layout and crystals for the board you have.


Ah, thanks Jman! So, here's the next big question...I now know that my board has a 12MHz crystal. Would there be any benefit to switching to a higher frequency crystal? and if so, is it simply a matter of pulling the old crystal and putting the new one in, or are there compatibility issues with other parts on the board?